A password-protected directory or area is a folder that can be accessed when a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized individuals may view its content. This feature may be used for the primary folder of a particular Internet site or just for a particular subfolder based upon your preferences. For example, if you are developing a new site and you don't want people to see it prior to it being ready, you should prohibit the access to it entirely, whereas if you want only some individuals to be able to access particular files, you are able to password-protect only a specific folder, while the remaining portion of the Internet site may be seen by everybody. Regardless, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear when the login details the visitor enters are not right. Even a direct link to a file will not work so long as any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Shared Hosting

With the password protection tool that is included with each and every shared hosting package which we provide, you'll be able to protect any content which you have inside your account with only a few mouse clicks. As the tool is a component of our revolutionary Hepsia CP, it provides the exact same simple interface and you'll not require any special skills to use it. Once you check out the Password Protection section, you will have to select one of the domains or subdomains that you have within the account and then choose whether the protection should be active for the main folder or for a subfolder. Then input the username and the password that you'd like and you'll be ready. A little padlock symbol in the File Manager section will tell you that a certain folder is password-protected. In the same exact way you will be able to add many usernames and passwords for the same folder if you would like several people to have their own login credentials.

Password Protected Directories in Semi-dedicated Hosting

If you have a semi-dedicated server account with our company, you will be able to shield any content that you've uploaded by using our protection tool. Its interface is as simple and intuitive as that of the Hepsia Control Panel it's a part of, so you'll not have to write any code at any time. You will only need to pick one of the domains/subdomains that you have in the hosting account and to pick which folder needs to be password-protected - the website’s root folder or some folder below it. Then you can enter the username and the password, that'll be stored in encrypted form in our system, and you will be good to go. The protection will be enabled instantly, so anybody who tries to access the recently secured folder shall have to enter the right login details. In case various individuals should be able to open precisely the same content, you could make a separate username for each.